My Sister Who Died At 10; Losing A Sibling

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License. SM 2.20.2008 @ 16:59

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

SM 2.20.2008 @ 16:59

~ by coffeebreath on February 20, 2008.

6 Responses to “My Sister Who Died At 10; Losing A Sibling”

  1. Thank you for your comment. You are a caring person to say what you did. I appreciate you sharing very much!

  2. I’m so glad you wrote out your feelings and story. It made my heart cry. But your compassion and understanding for your sister are incredibly beautiful. You have to keep reminding yourself that you were only a young child–at the time, you did everything you knew how to do. And believe me, I’d bet anything your sister cherished your love and caring, even if words weren’t spoken. She knew your heart.

    Bless you for taking the hardship in your life and enlightening others with it. Your words will help make life better for someone.

  3. mousewords: thank you for your kind words. What you said has helped me so much because what I set out to do by sharing my story for the first time like this has now been captured. Thank you.

  4. I too, grew up in an alcohoic family, so I can relate to what you went through. I, too, was the baby, what they call “The Lost Child”, the one that gets pushed aside because the family is already so caught up in the addiction and trying to survive it.

    I think your mother’s losing so many children was probably due to her drinking, due to fetal alcohol syndrome, and her guilt was what pushed her over the edge. It’s very sad, but that’s the way it usually ends if they do not get help.

    I’ve lost two of my siblings in the last 10 years, and I too, have feelings of guilt about not being a better sister, but I can truly say that they were not the best siblings either, and both of them had hurt me unforgiveably at some time in my life.

    Some angels, like your sister, are sent to earth only for a reason and a season. I hope your sister served her purpose, and remember that where she is now, she is running and talking and laughing that beautiful belly laugh.

  5. Thank you for your comments and what you say makes sense.
    How we deal with what we have left over makes a big difference in our own well-being. It’s really what we make of who we are that is important now. My hope comforts me constantly in regards to my sister and her future. Thanks!

  6. You touched my heart. Thank you for letting me read this. Will you be my sister? I love you!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

