Back from the cruise

Today I am back from my cruise. We went to the Eastern Caribbean with family and friends for seven days. There were 10 of us all together. This was the best cruise experience I have had yet. MLH has been on several more cruises than me but this was my third. I went on two other Carnival cruises, one in 1996 and the next one in 2006. I do not know why there were ten years in between; that was a mistake! This most recent cruise was with Royal Caribbean and I enjoyed it very much.As far as dieting goes – I did not diet…I was on a cruise!!! I enjoyed the food; it was fantastic in my opinion. My weight loss ticker, at the top right of this page, shows I have ‘six pounds to go’. This would be because I gained weight on this cruise. I have not gained weight since starting to lose in May 2006 with Weight Watchers. I have been very careful with what I eat and so far this has paid off. You can see the success I can brag about above. In some ways, it is surreal because I do not picture myself thin. I am smaller now than I was when I got married. My husband is very happy with my success and he tells me how nice I look all of the time. But to me, I still feel ‘big’. Because I am tall, I used to be called ‘big’ or a ‘big girl’. I actually used to fit the proportions of a line backer for football. Height: 5’10” and weight 235. There are some pros who get paid to be that way! I was not one, and I needed to lose the weight for health and well being. It is still something to be able to say that I have lost 90 pounds. I gained a few, as mentioned, on the cruise, but I know what it feels like to lose a whole person in size. It is a wonderful accomplishment. I just wish I could feel complete with it but I wonder if I will ever feel like I look good.

It was a little strange to get back to work after being gone for a week.  I came back to the family at my job (see ‘about me’) and they were a little on the mellow side.  Usually whenever we are gone from work, we hear about the stresses and difficulties of the job.  That is not always fun to hear, but hey, I guess some of us need to vent right?

My parents were supposed to come over during the cruise to spend some time with the kids.  They are both diabetic and their health is not good, as well as the fact that they are in their 70’s.  They were not able to come over and that was a disappointment.  My husband’s parents and his grandfather kept the kids for us and it was great knowing how well they were taken care of while we were gone.  I missed the kids pretty badly, though, and I was anxious to come home by the time the cruise was over.  It is nice to be back.

Now it is back to work and the grind of life.  But I don’t consider it a bad thing; my kids and husband are great and I like my job.  My relationship with God is strengthened by regular regligious activites and my religion is my way of life, not just a periodic thing.  I have much to be grateful for.  So I will be doing my usual thing and getting into the groove.  Check out the travel section for details on the cruise.  You may like our ‘trip back’.  Hee hee.

The End for today.

“I feel the greatest gift we can give to anybody is the gift of our honest self.” – Mr. Rogers

 

~ by coffeebreath on December 3, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
