Adjusting After The Cruise

Well, it’s back to work with me.  It feels strange to be back in the groove of things.  I can still feel the vacation feeling, especially since the weather is different from a tropical paradise!

Yesterday I had the day off (bonus) because I had a 10:00 a.m. hair appointment.  Since I only work until about 2:30 or so on weekdays, the workday would have been a wash by the time I got out of my hair appointment.  I just went by the grocery store after my hair appointment and then went home.  It was nice to be at home for a little while and get some things done aronnd the house.  I cleaned up from the trip activities; the kids’ things put away from staying with the grandparents while we were on the cruise and some laundry got done. 

The dog is driving me crazy because he is not doing well with his litter box.  He’s never been 100% with that but it gets worse sometimes.  Yesterday there was a “treat” on the wood floor under the coffee table but fortunately it was not liquid.  I don’t think we are going to be able to keep him because he barks all of the time too.  We have tried patient training and we cannot seem to resolve the issue.  He would be better suited to a loud environment or maybe to an older person who wants a 3 pound lapdog that can spend all day with him.  He would be a great watchdog for an older person too.  It’s sad because the kids have known him for about 18 months, but we just cannot pull this together for our own sanity.

Now I have my computer monitor on split screen, so that I can see two programs at once.  I am ‘working’ and blogging at the same time :o)  A lot of people probably do this and it’s a fun use of time.

I gained what appears to be about 5 pounds before and during the cruise, so now it is back to my diet.  I need to lose at least that much and maybe a little more.  I noticed that my jeans were not fitting exactly right and that is a good thing.  I was losing weight for over a year, so I could never gauge my weight based on my clothing.  Now I know how it should fit and when it doesn’t, I know it is time to make a change.  I spent so much time losing weight that I would go down in size and have to buy new clothes.  That is fun but temporary too.

My kids will be getting out of school early today so I would like to do something special with them.  I may take them to the park to play, since it will still be nice during the day when it warms up.  I would like to help my kids to feel good every day.  I try not to lose my patience with my kids and be the best wife, mother and Christian that I can be.  However, as any parent knows, it is a challenge to raise kids today.  I want my kids to have a better childhood than I did.  Hopefully they will feel like they come before other things in life.  I want them to feel important and loved without overdoing their sense of self and accomplishment.  Many people have goals and feelings about how they raise their children and I know I am no different.  I just really want to try every day to be better, and I know I can be.  I like to tell my kids I love them every day and ask them something about themselves so that I can learn from them and about them.  I want to know how they feel but not pressure them to express themselves.  Kids’ perception of things is so amazing and interesting.  As an adult, I feel I have a lot to learn from their perception.  I hope they feel I am a good mother and that they can discuss things with me if they would like to.

I love my husband so very much.  He is a truly amazing person and he does not give himself enough credit.  He is so good with the kids and they love him so much.  He hugs them and tells them he loves them regularly.  We agree on how we raise our kids so much and it has really benefitted our family.  My husband is so patient and loving with the kids and he helps me out when my headaches are particularly bad.  He is so kind and peaceable and considerate.  I try to pattern my actions after what he demonstrates because I think it is a good thing to be a great wife.  He gives me so much and I would like to reflect that back to him.

I am going to get back to work for now and I hope you enjoy your day.

The End for today.

“I feel the greatest gift we can give to anybody is the gift of our honest self.” – Mr. Rogers

~ by coffeebreath on December 5, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
