How People View Food

This started as an entry about my weight loss back and forth. Included are thoughts more general in nature, which can have lots of differing views. The original idea sortof branched out.

Alright, I have waffled back and forth enough. I know what is good for me and I have to lose the excess weight which I have acquired recently. What is wrong with me? Why do I go back to what I know is bad for me? It is not like I have never lost the weight before. I have lost 90 pounds! I know how to do this. So…what is my problem?

Why Haven’t I Lost the Weight That I Gained Back Yet?
There has to be some confidence issue with weight for me. I am also being selfish; I don’t WANT it yet. By want, I mean the desire to do what it takes to really lose the weight. I don’t want it for myself. I am still trying to hold onto something or create something within myself so that I won’t be accountable to lose the weight. I give myself excuses, doing so by thinking that I messed up on a particular day so I might as well have some candy or something I am not supposed to have. This thinking is no good for me because I will never provide myself a reason to DO the right thing – lose the weight. Instead, I keep giving myself excuses not to. The danger in that is that I could just keep on going and making excuses. That is how I got overweight to begin with; and that is how I compromised my health in doing so. I know I can do this.

Overeating
There is no excuse for over eating; there just isn’t. What about people who don’t even have enough food? How much food does the human body REALLY need? Portion sizes in America have increased over the last few decades; I know this from personal experience. I am not trying to debate or misquote facts, just writing about what I have seen. Eating more than the body requires, of food that is non-essential or not properly designed for the body, can cause weight gain. At least for me it did; and I am happy to admit it.

Education on Food
I want my body to be in better shape and healthy. My body does not know what it is being given; it does not have a brain to assimilate the contents of my lunch. It just breaks it down naturally – whatever I put in. But if the body had feelings (the stomach, the heart, the kidneys, the bloodstream) what would it say it felt like taking in for nourishment? Would it ask for greasy, battered, high fat or high sugar foods? I do not think my body would; and I know this because it reacts in a chemical and obvious way to what I put into it. I guess it brings to mind the expression, “You are what you eat”. Kids learn about nutrition in school because people need to be taught how to eat properly. Our bodies cannot TELL us what we need to put into them; someone has to do this for us. Depending on our culture, where we grew up, our guardians as we grow up, and many other factors – we eat and take in things that nourish our body, if we possibly can. What actually goes in can determine the way we look, feel, move, live.

I remember hearing about when Oprah opened her school for girls in Africa, the girls now had access to food that they previously had not. They started hording food; hiding it, etc. Oprah addressed the young ladies and explained that they did not need to hide extra food; there was plenty of food for them and there would continue to be enough. Because they were used to not having enough, some of them still did not believe it could be true that there was enough food for everyone every day. But eating more than they were used to also caused some to be sick.

Also, by comparison, on the reality show on CBS “Survivor”, the castaways were not used to eating much. Over time, their bodies got used to that and when presented with a lot of food as a reward during their time on the show, they were not able to eat as much as they would have probably liked, relatively speaking. Or not as much as they could have eaten when first beginning on the show. Here they were presented with a bountious feast and they had to stop eating so they would not get physically sick, or sicker than they became by eating. I guess this is a case of our eyes being bigger than our stomach. Sometimes the food looks so good that we just want to keep eating or it tastes so good that we do keep eating.

This goes back to portion sizes, which I mentioned above. If someone sets out a portion to us, do we eat it to be polite? A certain school of thought allows for children to be taught that it is good, polite, correct to ‘clear your plate’. It is just interesting when it comes to portion sizes and how much our social structure can revolve around food. Some people do not think much about food at all; some have metobolic issues. Some people have a hatred of food, some love food. Some people cook food a lot of the day and do not actually eat much more than any other person. Some people are around food all day and it is a problem for them. There is such a relationship with food and people; how we think about food, what we do or do not have, need, take in when it comes to food.

It is just an interesting thing to think about when I think about my current situation.


Creative Commons License


This work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

~ by coffeebreath on January 8, 2008.

2 Responses to “How People View Food”

  1. Studies after studies have shown that parents have enormous influence on the future eating habit or lack thereof of their children. They need to educate their kids about food and nutrition.

  2. Very true and I agree wholeheartedly.

Leave a Reply

 
