Locking Into a Mindset – I Will Accomplish This

Creative Commons LicenseThis work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License

This time I will accomplish my goal.  I lost so much weight – 90 pounds actually – and I know I can do this again.

For the simple fact that my overall health is at risk and I do not want diabetes, that should be enough for me to lose the weight I have left to lose.  Both of my parents had diabetes and all of my siblings have blood sugar problems.  I want to do what I can to avoid diabetes or blood sugar problems at all costs.

This past summer, my 40-year old brother was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes when he went to the doctor because he could not feel his feet.  His blood sugar was 450 or so and now he has to be very careful.  He was very angry when he first learned about his situation and he did not want to deal with it; I do not blame him at all.  He went through a sort of ‘process’ where he was coping with his illness.

Diabetes is common, yes, but is still an illness to be dealt with.  Diabetes makes people feel awful and upset and they cannot get out from under its daily frustration.

Now I know what I have to do and I will accomplish it.  I know what I used to look like when I lost all of that weight and that is what I want to look like again; mostly for my health and family too.

S.L.M.
10.28.08 @ 10:28

~ by coffeebreath on October 28, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
